Bharatanatyam – The Traditional Art Of Dancing

Bharatanatyam is a classical dance form that claims to have originated in Tamil Nadu, southern India. Most of the statues in Hindu temples are based on the Bharata Natyam dance pose known as karats. In fact, it is the celestial female dancers or apsaras, who are depicted in many scriptures performing this heavenly dance, known on earth as Bharatanatyam.

Basically, Hindu deities are worshiped in royal wealth in their temples and offer a standard set of religious services called aromatics, including music and dances to please the senses. Bharata Natyam as a related form of Carnatic dance and music is deeply rooted in an atmosphere of devotion, Bhakti. Bharata Natyam is said to be the embodiment of music in visual form and a contribution to devotion. People who are interested in learning this beautiful form of dance can take online dance classes on

Bharatanatyam is the manifestation of the ancient idea of the celebration of the eternal universe through the beauty of the material body. The physical expressions express a poetic meaning known as Abinaya. It means that the emphasis is more on facial expressions than rhythmic movements. Abinaya is divided into four categories:

1. Angikabhina

2. Vachikabhina

3. Aharyaabkhina

4. Satvikabhina

Angikabhinaya: Expressing the meaning of the text through body parts such as the head, arms, legs, etc

Vachikabhinaya: Expressing history through dance drama

Acharyabhinaya: Imitating the dresses, Jewellery, Make-up, etc. in the dance.

Satvikabhinaya: Indicates the devotional mood is under the Satvikabhinaya.

Lord Shiva is said to be the embodiment of the 4 types of Abinaya.